Skip to main content
Research notes

BPC-157 Capsules: What the Oral-Route Evidence Shows

BPC-157 capsules are sold on the claim that the peptide survives gastric juice, a property first described by its discovery group and cited in later published rat studies that gave BPC-157 in drinking water. Those animal studies report outcomes broadly comparable between the oral and injected routes for the specific models tested, but no published, peer-reviewed human trial has tested the oral route, and the current published human evidence for BPC-157 uses non-oral routes. A capsule's label also cannot verify its own contents — identity and purity require independent testing — and Peptyds sells BPC-157 only as a lyophilised research vial, not as an oral or capsule product.

8 min readUpdated 25 Sept 2026Reviewed by Independent EU laboratory (ISO/IEC 17025)
Gloved hands place a sample into a blue rack on a laboratory bench.
Gloved hands place a sample into a blue rack on a laboratory bench.
Jump to section
  1. 01Why oral BPC-157 is discussed at all
  2. 02The published rodent evidence for the oral route
  3. 03Human oral-route trials: what has and hasn't been published
  4. 04What a capsule product can and cannot prove
  5. 05FDA's compounding-safety review of BPC-157
  6. 06WADA's anti-doping status for BPC-157
  7. 07Oral versus injectable BPC-157: comparing the research evidence, not the choice
  8. 08What Peptyds sells: a research vial, not a capsule
  • BPC-157 capsules are marketed on a specific, checkable claim — that the peptide is stable in gastric juice — first described by its discovery group and repeated in later published rat studies.
  • Published rat studies gave BPC-157 in drinking water and reported outcomes comparable to injected BPC-157 in the same experiments, for specific models: esophagitis, colocutaneous fistula, and myotendinous-junction repair.
  • No published, peer-reviewed human study has tested oral BPC-157; the one BPC-157 trial currently registered on ClinicalTrials.gov uses a subcutaneous injection, not an oral formulation.
  • A capsule's label cannot verify itself — identity and purity require testing read against a batch-matched certificate of analysis, the same standard used for any other peptide format.
  • BPC-157 was previously in category 2 of FDA's compounding safety-risk list; FDA's April 2026 page lists it among nominations withdrawn by the nominators. WADA names it under S0, prohibited in sport at all times regardless of route.
  • Peptyds sells BPC-157 only as a lyophilised research vial for laboratory research and does not sell an oral or capsule product.

Discussed in this guide

  • BPC-157 ComplexA recovery-focused peptide studied for its role in supporting the body's natural repair response — tendons, soft tissue, and gut-lining integrity.5 mg · 10 mg€4.90 / mg

Why oral BPC-157 is discussed at all

BPC-157 capsules are sold online as an oral alternative to the injectable research formats most of the peptide's published literature is built on. The premise behind that oral framing rests on one specific, checkable claim: that BPC-157 resists breakdown in gastric juice, unlike most peptides, which are denatured by stomach acid and digestive enzymes before they can be absorbed intact. The first characterisation of BPC-157 described it as a 15-amino-acid fragment isolated from a larger gastric-juice protein, already tested by intraperitoneal, intragastric and local application in the original 1990s pharmacology work.[1]

A later paper from the same Zagreb pharmacology group states this plainly: BPC-157 "was found to be stable in gastric juice" — the specific property that oral-route researchers, and later capsule sellers, built on. That stability claim is about the molecule surviving contact with gastric juice in the studies that reported it; it is not, by itself, evidence that a manufactured capsule reproduces the same exposure or dose, or that the effects seen in the cited animal studies occur in a person who swallows a capsule.[2]

The published rodent evidence for the oral route

The clearest oral-route evidence for BPC-157 is a series of rat studies from the peptide's discovery group, in which BPC-157 was dissolved and given continuously in the animals' drinking water rather than injected. In a rat model of prolonged esophagitis with sphincter failure, BPC-157 given in drinking water alongside a separate intraperitoneal-injection arm recovered esophagitis lesions and normalised pressure in both the lower esophageal and pyloric sphincters, assessed macroscopically, microscopically and by manometry.[2]

In a rat colocutaneous-fistula model, BPC-157 given in drinking water until the animals were euthanised at set points from day 1 to day 28 after surgery accelerated the healing of both the colonic and skin defects, closing the fistula tract on the same macroscopic, microscopic and functional (leak-pressure) measures used for the injected arm of the same experiment.[3]

A 2021 rat study of surgically detached quadriceps myotendinous junctions used six rats per group at each of four post-operative intervals (7, 14, 28 and 42 days), comparing intraperitoneal BPC-157 against BPC-157 given perorally in drinking water. Both routes produced comparable recovery — counteracted muscle atrophy and visibly repaired defects by day 28–42 — on macroscopic, microscopic, biomechanical and functional testing.[4]

Human oral-route trials: what has and hasn't been published

PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov do not list a completed, published clinical trial that gave BPC-157 to people by the oral route. The published human pilot work on BPC-157 is small and is covered in full elsewhere on this site — see BPC-157 side effects and BPC-157: the complete guide rather than repeating it here — and none of it used an oral formulation. The one BPC-157 study currently registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, a Phase 2 trial in acute hamstring strain, also uses an injectable (subcutaneous) route and had not reported results as of September 2026.[7]

That gap between animal-model testing and human testing on the same route is what a capsule buyer cannot see from a product listing.

Continue reading:BPC-157 side effects: the published human and animal recordBPC-157: the complete guide

What a capsule product can and cannot prove

A capsule bought online is a finished consumer product, not a research reference standard. Its label can claim a peptide name and a milligram amount; neither claim is self-verifying. Confirming that the intended peptide is actually present, at the stated purity, and free of degradation products or synthesis byproducts requires the same identity and purity testing used for any other peptide format — mass-spectrometry identity confirmation and HPLC purity analysis, read alongside the method and batch details.

Encapsulation also adds a manufacturing step that a lyophilised vial does not have: a filler or excipient blend, a fill-weight process, and often a coating, each of which can affect how much intact peptide is actually in a given capsule versus what the label states. None of that is visible from a product photo or a marketing claim about gastric stability; it is only checkable from a batch-matched certificate of analysis, read the way the linked guides describe.

Continue reading:How to read a peptide Certificate of AnalysisWhat HPLC purity means for peptides

FDA's compounding-safety review of BPC-157

In the United States, FDA evaluates bulk substances nominated for use in compounded medicines and places those that may present significant safety risks in "category 2" of its interim compounding policies. BPC-157 was previously in category 2, with FDA citing a possible risk of immunogenicity for certain routes of administration, complexities with peptide-related impurities and characterisation of the active ingredient, and no or only limited safety-related information. On FDA's page, current as of 22 April 2026, BPC-157 appears among the substances "nominated but withdrawn": its nominators withdrew the nomination, and it is not on the active category 2 list.[5]

WADA's anti-doping status for BPC-157

In sport, the World Anti-Doping Agency's Prohibited List names BPC-157 directly. The 2026 List, effective 1 January 2026, places it under section S0, Non-Approved Substances — pharmacological substances with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use — and names BPC-157 by name as one of the substances that class covers. S0 substances are prohibited at all times, in and out of competition, and the List does not carve out an exception for a particular route or formulation such as a capsule.[6]

Oral versus injectable BPC-157: comparing the research evidence, not the choice

The research literature and the human regulatory record point in different directions on route. In the published rat studies above, the oral (drinking-water) route and the injected (intraperitoneal) route were often tested side by side in the same experiment, and the papers report comparable outcomes between the two routes for the specific models tested — esophagitis healing, fistula closure, myotendinous-junction repair.[2][3][4]

At the human level, the comparison cannot be made the same way. Every published human pilot data point and the one currently registered human trial use an injected route; no published human study has tested oral BPC-157 against an injected comparator, or against placebo, in the same trial. That means the "oral vs injectable" question has an answer in specific rodent models and no answer yet in people — a research-evidence gap, not a reason to prefer one route over the other for any purpose this site describes.[7]

What Peptyds sells: a research vial, not a capsule

Peptyds supplies BPC-157 as a single lyophilised research vial — BPC-157 Complex — intended for laboratory research use. Peptyds does not sell an oral capsule, tablet, or any other oral-route BPC-157 product, and nothing in this article describes a Peptyds product being taken by mouth, or by any other route, by a person.

Continue reading:BPC-157 Complex research vial

Sources

  1. [01]
  2. [02]
  3. [03]
  4. [04]
  5. [05]
  6. [06]
  7. [07]

Questions

Does oral BPC-157 work?

That is a research-evidence question, not a use question, and the honest answer is that it depends which body of evidence you mean. In the published rat studies that gave BPC-157 in drinking water, the oral route produced outcomes comparable to the injected route for the specific models tested — esophagitis healing, fistula closure, and myotendinous-junction repair. No published, peer-reviewed human study has tested whether an oral BPC-157 product produces any effect in people, so at the human level it is untested, not proven or disproven.[2][3][4]

Why do people say BPC-157 survives stomach acid?

Because a 2006 paper from the peptide's discovery group states that BPC-157 "was found to be stable in gastric juice," following its original 1990s characterisation as a gastric-juice-derived peptide fragment. That is the specific finding that oral-route researchers, and later capsule sellers, point to. It describes the molecule in the conditions those studies tested, not a guarantee about any particular manufactured product.[2][1]

Is there a published human clinical trial of oral BPC-157?

None was found in PubMed or ClinicalTrials.gov as of September 2026. The only BPC-157 study currently registered on ClinicalTrials.gov, a Phase 2 trial for acute hamstring strain, uses a subcutaneous injection, not an oral formulation, and had not reported results at the time of writing.[7]

What did the existing published human BPC-157 studies use?

That is covered in full in BPC-157 side effects and BPC-157: the complete guide rather than repeated here — in short, none of the published small human pilot studies used an oral formulation.

Can a BPC-157 capsule's label be trusted at face value?

Not without independent testing. A label can state a peptide name and an amount; verifying that the capsule actually contains that peptide, at that purity, requires identity and purity testing read against a batch-matched certificate of analysis — see How to read a peptide Certificate of Analysis and What HPLC purity means for peptides for how to evaluate that kind of documentation.

What is BPC-157's regulatory status in the United States and in sport?

BPC-157 was previously in category 2 of FDA's list of bulk substances that may present significant safety risks in compounding, with FDA citing immunogenicity risk, characterisation complexity and limited safety information; FDA's page, current as of 22 April 2026, lists it among nominations withdrawn by the nominators. In sport, the WADA 2026 Prohibited List names BPC-157 under section S0 (Non-Approved Substances), prohibited at all times regardless of route or formulation.[5][6]

Does Peptyds sell an oral or capsule BPC-157 product?

No. Peptyds supplies BPC-157 as a single lyophilised research vial, BPC-157 Complex, for laboratory research use, and does not sell an oral capsule, tablet, or any other oral-route BPC-157 product.

Educational content. Not medical advice.

Next step

Choose the route that matches how you read.